Schweiz: Ascona – Recital – Schubert & Schumann
15. May 2021
Schweiz - Ascona
Ita Wegman Hall - Casa Andrea Cristoforo

Recital Cello & Piano
Matthias Michael Beckmann, 5string cello
Elena Braslavsky, piano

Franz Schubert (1797 – 1828) „Arpeggione“-Sonate a-Moll, D 821
Robert Schumann (1819 – 1856)
Adagio und Allegro in As-Dur op. 70 (1849)
Fantasiestücke op. 73 (1849)
Fünf Stücke im Volkston in a-Moll op. 102 (1849)

Franz Schubert’s Sonata for Arpeggione embraces whole worlds of emotion; Robert Schumann’s pieces are filled with the most profound poetry. Here Beckmann and distinguished pianist Elena Braslavsky form an exquisite partnership. Classical form combined with sensitive Romanticism and  sublime melody – this is great, timeless music, in all its energy and humanity.