Matthias Michael Beckmann - 5 string Cello Matthias Michael Beckmann - 5 string Cello


J.S.Bach – The Gamba Sonatas

J.S. Bach’s Masterpieces   
The secret to Bach’s music lies perhaps in the fact that the average listener, even if they understand little of the harmonic arts – and indeed, have little inclination to understand – can still absorb his music on many levels. Among these arts is the magic of slightly differentiated repetitions combined with a pulsing rhythm. Another is the simple beauty of melody. These elements would amount to no more than entertaining music, if not for the inner meditative strength that is surely connected with Bach’s unmistakeable grasp of the absolute alignment of spirit and emotion, sense and sensuality. Meditation literally means the contemplation of, but in this word also resides the heart that one must find. The cellist plays the Gamba Sonatas with a unique five-stringed cello, accompanied by piano & double bass

Sonate Nr.I G major BWV 1027 ·  Sonate Nr.2 D major BWV 1028
Sonate Nr.3 G minor BWV 1029 · Choral / Cantata BWV 147

Matthias Michael Beckmann, Cello (five stringed)
Clarissa Bürgschwendtner, double bass & Michael Walter, piano